Boxes Boxes Everywhere


Beauty boxThe beauty box phenomenon has enabled women from all walks of life to access the world of designer brand makeup and luxury products for a fraction of the price. Beauty box subscriptions can be purchased for a monthly or yearly fee and each box includes an assortment of 4-5 luxury items which can be tried and experimented with. This can open people up to new products and brands they may not have been aware of or never would have thought to purchase on a daily basis. Many beauty boxes range from $10 to $21 per month which is what I pay for my current subscriptions. I am currently subscribed to three beauty box services which include Glossybox, Birchbox and Ipsy. I have found different aspects I like and dislike in each. Personally, my favorite beauty box subscription is Glossybox. It is $21 per month and includes 5 deluxe sized beauty products. Many of the products included in the Glossybox are full-sized and allow the consumer to determine accurately how effective a product works and if it proves to be an investment. While Glossybox does not have a vast array of beauty brands like others I have seen, I have never been unsatisfied with my boxes. The only problems I find with this service is their customer service is mediocre at best and take days to return inquiries. Also, shipping takes forever and packages never arrive until 10 days later. But this is most beauty box subscriptions I have observed.

Birchbox is a $10 monthly service and includes 5 beauty products/food goods in each box. They have a vast array of beauty participants compared to Glossybox. However, most of the samples are very small and do not allow the consumer to gain an exact picture of how a product works. They are something you could get at a beauty counter at the department store or in a hotel room. That’s what you get for $10 I suppose. Much like Glossybox, it can take up to 12 days for the box to arrive in the mailbox. I have, however, never been disappointed with the contents of my boxes. birchbox

Ipsy is still yet to be determined but will say it ranks high in shipping services. I just received my first one this week and was not dazzled but not heartbroken. Most of the brands I have never heard of and the all pink theme was less than riveting. Pink eye shadow does not do wonders for my eyes. It makes my baby blues look bloodshot and less than dazzling. I do like that each month the products areĀ encased in a custom makeup bag that coincides with each theme.

The verdict: Glossybox reigns over all three but Birchbox does have potential as well. Ipsy is still in question.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I
    find It really useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope
    to give something back and aid others like you aided me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 257 other followers

